Roasting


Our gentle Vienna roast



Not even the best coffee bean in the world tastes good if you roast it badly

There are many different ways to roast coffee. Some roasteries aim for efficiency and roast their more or less premium coffee beans very quickly at high temperatures. Such a roast can last between 30 seconds and 3 Minutes. The beans reach a temperature peak of up to 600 degrees Celsius. This way, some roasteries are able to produce a huge amount of roasted coffee beans but at the expense of a loss of aroma, no real indulgence and wholesomeness.

Here at the Hanover Coffee Manufactoory we roast according to the so-called Vienna roasting method, also known as the longterm-drum roast. Our roasting method is the style that most Germans prefer their coffee, as the roast itself is less hot and the result are coffee beans that are not as dark as those of the Italian or French roast. The italian or french roasts are known for their rather burnt and oily coffee beans. On the other hand we don´t roast as light as the Skandinavians do, with roasting times mostly far below 15 minutes. Regarding the taste, these light roasts are usually very floral and acidic because the beans are not fully roasted through and sometimes even leave the roasting machine before the first “Crack”.



Our philosopy of roasting is different: we produce a fully done roasted, fully developed, heady coffee with a lot of body. All of our coffee beans are solely roasted in single-origin batches. Our coffee beans never reach a higher temperature than 190degrees Celsius and are roasted at around 15-20 Minutes, depending on the current climatic conditions, each individual batch of green coffee beans and other factors that determine the roasting time. We roast our coffees until shortly before the second crack to reach the desired roasting degree. An example would be that if the humidity is higher today than yesterday and the air pressure is lower, the exact same coffee beans have to be roasted hotter or longer than yesterday because the heating curve behaves differently than the day before. All of these factors can´t be coped with by a machine and to achieve an alltime premium result of highest quality coffee beans a manual roast by an experienced roast master is vital. This requires not only technical skill but more importantly a lot of experience and sensory ability.

Each of our roasts is done manually. We strongly believe that the perfect coffee can´t be obtained by a machine and programm. As coffee beans are a natural product they are very heterogeneous so its impossible that a predefined temperature curve can always achieve the best result. That’s why for every single roast, the roastmaster himself decides at what exact moment the roasted coffee bean is perfect. He uses his trained senses to determine the smell, colour and structure of the beans surface to determine the perfect coffee bean.

烘焙


汉焙维也纳烘焙



如果烘焙不好,即使世上最好的咖啡都很难喝。

咖啡的烘焙方式各异,某些烘焙坊以效率为目标,采用高温快炒的方式烘焙他们的咖啡豆。 快炒一般耗时30秒至3分钟,咖啡豆最高温度可达600摄氏度。采用这种方式,这些烘焙坊能最快地出品大量咖啡豆,但却破坏了咖啡的芳香和整体风味。

我们汉焙咖啡工坊采用维也纳式烘焙,也被称为慢烘鼓式烘焙。我们烘焙的方式是大部分德国人偏爱咖啡的方式。以采用低温烘焙,咖啡豆颜色也不像意式或法式烘焙那么深。意式或法式烘焙以焦烤和丰富油脂为特色。但是,我们又不像斯堪的纳维亚式烘焙一样浅,其烘焙时间远低于15分钟。就口味而言,这些浅度烘焙通常高花香和酸度因为咖啡豆并未完全烘焙,有时甚至未达到“一爆”就出锅了。



我们的烘焙哲学独具一格:我们出品烘焙完整,风味完全呈现,醇度全面的美味咖啡。 我们出品的咖啡均由单品咖啡烘焙而成。烘焙温度从不超过190摄氏度,平均烘焙15-20分钟。根据实际气候条件,每批次生豆差异,及其他因素决定烘焙时间。一般在“二爆”前我们的咖啡豆会烘焙至所需程度出锅。如果今天的湿度比昨天高,气压比昨天低,那么同样品质的咖啡需更高温度,更长时间来烘焙,因为热量曲线同昨天不一样。所有这些因素不能依靠烘焙机来应对,为长期实现最高品质的烘焙,经验丰富的烘焙师手工烘焙至关重要。这不仅需要烘焙技术和技巧,经验和味觉也尤其重要。

我们每一批均手工烘焙。我们坚信完美品质的咖啡不能仅通过机器和编程来实现。咖啡豆是一种自然果实,其化学成分多种多样,无法通过预定的温度曲线来实现最佳的烘焙效果。所以,每一次烘焙都只能由烘焙师决定何时出锅以实现完美烘焙效果。他运用训练有素的专业感官来判断咖啡香味,颜色和咖啡豆表面结构是否达到效果。